## Higher Risk Destinations – Petition Required 2023-2024 Academic Year

To protect student health and safety, Colorado State University maintains a list of higher risk destinations. The countries listed below are assessed as having high or extreme risk related to health, safety and/or security. Any CSU employee traveling with students in one of these destinations or any CSU student (undergraduate or graduate) traveling to any country listed below must complete a petition process and have their travel plans reviewed by members of the International Travel Oversight Committee (ITOC) prior to travel. Risk designations are not static and may change based on country or world conditions. Note that this list is based on established risk indicators and does not necessarily reflect travel risk associated with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. All students should carefully review covid-related advising in their myEdabroad portal.

- Afghanistan
- Algeria
- Bangladesh
- Belarus
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cameroon
- Central African Republic
- Chad
- China
- Colombia
- Congo, Democratic Republic of
- Congo, Republic of
- Cote d'Ivoire (see Ivory Coast)
- Ecuador
- Egypt
- El Salvador
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Eswatini (see Swaziland)
- Guatemala
- Guinea Bissau
- Haiti
- Honduras
- India
- Iran
- Iraq
- Israel, the West Bank and Gaza
- Ivory Coast (Cote d'Ivoire)
- Jamaica
- Jordan
- Kenya
- Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (see North Korea)

- Kyrgyzstan
- Lebanon
- Liberia
- Libya
- Madagascar
- Mali
- Mauritania
- Mexico
- Moldova
- Mozambique
- Myanmar (Burma)
- Nicaragua
- Niger
- Nigeria
- North Korea
- Pakistan
- Papua New Guinea
- Peru
- Russia
- Rwanda
- Saudi Arabia
- Sierra Leone
- Somalia
- South Africa
- South Sudan, Republic of
- Sudan
- Syria
- Swaziland (see Eswatini)
- Tunisia
- Uganda
- Ukraine
- Venezuela
- Yemen
- Zimbabwe